Newbie here looking for some pointers

Hello everyone, just discovered this group. Already consumed so many information here, thank you all for this.

Iā€™m looking to open a cowork space but i have many doubts and no money!! The place is a highly touristic place by the ocean and a known surf spot. Iā€™ll be counting with some nomad surfers, or digital nomads that surf or just people who want to be in a nice place by the beach and do some work.

At the moment iā€™m looking for real estate but donā€™t know what to look for exactly. I found a couple of stores from 60 to 100mĀ² . Last week i found what it used to be a hostel and it blew my mind and got me starting thinking big. So what should i be looking for in a place?

Secondly, after some research i found that most places are open 24/7 and people have keys to the place, is this mandatory?! I found also that thereā€™s management software for costumers. How does this work? Do people have to do a login of some sort or have a check clock to punch in?

What comodities are a must for a coworking space?

I guess for now these are my biggest doubtsā€¦ i have many more that iā€™ll be asking, if you donā€™t mind, later!

Thanks in advance,

Tiago

Hey Tiago,

Where exactly are you located? Iā€™d recommend talking to some folks who are currently doing coworking in tropical areas for digital nomads, and might be able to make some suggestions on who to talk to about the unique challenges theyā€™ve discovered.

Your concerns all tie back to one thing though: that youā€™re starting with space and (in your own words) commodities. You need to start from the people. Without a community, youā€™re instantly at a disadvantage in every way and as youā€™ve already experienced, have no way of knowing what you ACTUALLY need.