Hello my friends,

I am new to this group & I am new to the coworking space community. I have recently rehabbed and converted my commercial property located in downtown Imlay City, Michigan. It is a coworking space with conference rooms, private suites and desk rentals.
The area is mostly rural. Are there other coworking spaces in smaller rural areas (4000+/-)? What are the challenges?
Thank You,
RK

Third Street Lofts & Business Center LLC
240 East Third Street

Imlay City, MI 48444

Hey Ray,
The local population of my city is 90,000-- so we are bigger than you, but the city as a whole is largely lower income so our market ends up being pretty small for coworking. I’ve found the biggest challenge is educating the population about what coworking is and the benefits. Since we have no competitors, the first time many people discover coworking is through us. It helps to focus your marketing on differentiating between coworking and familiar options (working from home, coffee shop, renting a traditional office).

Also, since you are in a small market tactics like flyers, networking, and word of mouth are very powerful! Good luck.

1 Like

Hi Ray,

Following Sarah’s comments… since you are in a less urban area, one of your biggest challenges will likely be educating your prospective clients about what you do and why it could be a benefit to them. In this vein, you may want to consider expanding on the “Benefits” section of your website to show how you are different & better than the alternatives and you might try to host local events in your space to let people experience your space. You may also try to work with a local chamber of commerce (if you have one) in hosting events at your space.

Best wishes to you!

Hi guys,