Employee Bonus Program

Hello,

I am new to coworking and have been hired as a Community Manager of a brand new coworking space. As a part of my contract the owners of the space specified that a structured bonus plan would be a part of the compensation. It was outlined that I would be a part of the creation process of this structure as I am the first CM of this space.

The manager that I report to has since put this on ‘hold’ and there has been no bonus structure or plan created, although I bring it up every few weeks to discuss.

I have set up a meeting for next week, which marks the end of my 3 month ‘probationary’ period and have reiterated that there needs to be a plan in place by this time.

I am looking for some information on what is a reasonable bonus plan. Although I am not experienced in coworking I have over 10 years of management experience in high volume sales positions and fast paced environments. Any ideas of what a coworking bonus plan would look like would be helpful. I have been told it will be based on Leads, Memebrships, Events and Tours and that is all. Ideally I wanted to write one myself but there aren’t expamples online!

Thanks so much,

Krista

Hey Krista,

That’s a shitty situation :frowning_face:

As someone who owns and runs a coworking space, and who advises lots of other folks on how to incentivize their employees, I usually put things like lead and sales based commissions at the BOTTOM of the list. Sales/lead based incentives create a situation where you’re motivated to put butts in seats rather than curate and develop community, which can require telling people that your community isn’t the best fit for them.