Defining a "coworking" space as distinct from "office" space...a zoning ordinance question

I work in city government, and I’ve been asked how other cities define a “coworking” space separately from other types of “office” uses in their zoning regulations. I’ve checked several ordinances for cities known to have a large coworking presence, but so far, I’ve had no luck finding such a definition in those city ordinances.

Then I stumbled across this group.

So I’m wondering, does the city where your coworking space operates have a “coworking” or “shared workspace” land use definition in its zoning regulations? If so, what city/state is your site in, and is the definition adequate to allow your facility to operate unimpeded (or is there something that needs to be tweaked)?

How would you define “coworking space” so as to make it clear that it is not an ordinary office space?

Respectfully,

Troy Wynne, AICP

City of Irving, TX

Hi Troy.

I’m an architect who coincidentally used to work and practice in Irving, TX.

In general, no, cities have not adopted shared spaces into their zoning regulations.

But in general, the elaboration of codes would be the increase in occupancy density (to near assembly levels), and therefore the likely impact to egress, fixture counts, and maybe parking. I say maybe to parking because many shared space users are more likely to use alternate modes of transit, and b/c 100 seats in a space does not necessarily translate to 100 daily parkers. In fact, maybe only 50, or that the 100 come in/out like retail, vs. park all day.

JEROME CHANG

talk to us: (323) 330-9505

chat w/ us: http://www.BLANKSPACES.com/chat

WEST: Santa Monica | 1450 2nd St (@Broadway)

CENTRAL: Mid-Wilshire | 5405 Wilshire Blvd (2 blocks west of La Brea)

EAST: Downtown | 529 S. Broadway, Ste 4000 (@Pershing Square)

NORTH: Pasadena | 680 E. Colorado, Ste 180 (b/w Lake and Los Robles)

···

On Nov 20, 2017, at 1:25 PM, [email protected] wrote: